EVIDENCE DEFLATOR · PUBLIC AUDIT · 2026-10-05

17 published LLM trading papers: how much of each backtest did the model not already know?17 篇公开的 LLM 交易论文:每个回测里,有多少个月是模型没读过的?

Cutoffs are taken only from the model provider's own documentation, never from the paper. Where none is published, the row says so. Facts only — no judgement of the papers' quality or intent.截止日只取模型方的官方文档,不取论文自报。查不到的如实标注。只陈述事实,不评价论文质量或作者意图。

17papers audited篇审计
9with a documented cutoff查得到官方截止日
0reach 48 clean months干净样本 ≥ 48 个月
4tested mostly before the cutoff测试期大半在截止日前
8cannot be assessed无从判断

48 months is what a Sharpe-1 claim needs to clear t = 2 (Lo 2002, i.i.d. — a floor). At Sharpe 2 the bar is 12 months, and two papers would clear it.48 个月是夏普 1 的主张达到 t = 2 所需的干净月数(Lo 2002,假设 i.i.d.,是下限)。若按夏普 2,门槛为 12 个月,有 2 篇够长。

1 · Nine papers with a documented cutoff一 · 查得到官方截止日的 9 篇

PAPERHEADLINE MODEL主结果模型PROVIDER CUTOFF官方截止日TEST PERIOD测试区间READ / TOTAL已读/总CLEAN干净VERDICT判决
FinMemGPT-4-Turbo2023-122022-10 → 2023-047 / 70no_holdout
TradingAgentsgpt-4o, o1-preview2023-102024-01 → 2024-030 / 33underpowered
CryptoTradeGPT-4o2023-102023-04 → 2023-11 (3 segments)7 / 81underpowered
Alpha JungleGPT-4.12024-062021-01 → 2024-1142 / 475underpowered
Expert Investment TeamsGPT-4o2023-102023-09 → 2025-112 / 2725underpowered
Crypto portfolio multi-agentGPT-52024-092025-01 → 2025-120 / 1212underpowered
ATLASo4-mini2024-062025-04 → 2025-060 / 33underpowered
EvolveTradeGPT-5-mini2024-052025-09 → 2025-11 (longest window)0 / 33underpowered
Strat-LLM USGPT-5.42025-082025-01 → 2025-066 / 60no_holdout
Strat-LLM A-shareGPT-5.42025-082025-06 → 2025-093 / 41underpowered

What the papers say, quoted论文原话

2 · Eight papers that cannot be assessed二 · 无从判断的 8 篇

PAPERMODEL模型TEST PERIOD测试区间WHY NOT原因
FLAG-TraderSmolLM2-135M-Instruct2020-10 → 2021-05; BTC 2023-04 → 2023-11no published cutoff未公布截止日
FinRL-DeepSeekDeepSeek V32019 → 2023no published cutoff. Its Llama 3.3 variant (cutoff 2023-12, model card) is 60 of 60 months read未公布截止日;同篇 Llama 3.3 变体(截止 2023-12,见模型卡)60 个月全部已读
Trading-R1Qwen3-4B (fine-tuned)2024-06 → 2024-08no published cutoff; "held-out" refers to its own fine-tuning data未公布截止日;「held-out」指其微调数据
Trade in MinutesDeepSeek-V3/R1, Qwen2.5-Coder2024; 2025-01 → 2025-04no published cutoffs均未公布截止日
AlphaSchemaDeepSeek-V4-Flash2023-01 → 2025-12no published cutoff; 16 plans × 80 rounds per run, 5 runs未公布截止日;每次运行 16 方案 × 80 轮,共 5 次
TradingGroupQwen3-8B (fine-tuned)—test period not stated测试区间未写明
MountainLionGPT-4o, DeepSeek V3, Grok-3—test period not stated测试区间未写明
Self-Driving Portfolio——authors state "any historical 'out-of-sample' evaluation is contaminated by look-ahead bias" and mitigate with "proprietary techniques"; model and period not checkable作者明写历史样本外评估必然被污染,以未公开方法缓解;模型与区间无法核对

3 · What the two tables say三 · 两张表说明了什么

  1. None of the nine reaches 48 clean months.9 篇里没有一篇的干净样本达到 48 个月。
  2. Four tested mostly on months the model may already have read.4 篇的测试期大半落在模型可能读过的月份里。
  3. Five of the eight that cannot be assessed used open-weight models that publish no cutoff at all.无从判断的 8 篇里,5 篇用的开源权重模型根本没有公布截止日。
  4. Since 2025 most papers test after the cutoff. The problem is moving from open-book to too short.2025 年以后多数论文已在截止日之后测试,问题正从「开卷」变成「太短」。

Prior work前人工作

This is not a new criterion. The Alpha Illusion lists model version and knowledge cutoff among minimum disclosures; What survives honest evaluation? works the same power arithmetic; Glasserman & Lin (2023) measured look-ahead bias in GPT sentiment signals. What this page adds is narrower: a paper-by-paper table with each cutoff traced to the provider.这不是新判据。Alpha Illusion 把模型版本与知识截止日列为最低披露;What survives honest evaluation? 做的是同一种样本量算术;Glasserman & Lin(2023)最早量化了 GPT 情绪信号的前视偏差。本页的增量更窄:一张逐篇、每个截止日都追溯到模型方的表。

Method and limits做法与限定

Evidence Deflator · GitHub · pip install evidence-deflator